The History of ARP

Founded in 2001, ARP’s mission is a scientific organization devoted to bringing together scholars whose research contributes to the understanding of personality structure, development, and dynamics. From 2001 through 2008, ARP met annually as an SPSP preconference. Since 2009, we have held a stand-alone biennial conference. For more information about past ARP conferences, visit our conference page.

Past ARP Officers


2018-2019 Brent Roberts
2016-2017 Dan McAdams
2014-2015 Dan Ozer
2012-2013 Will Fleeson
2010-2011 David Funder
2008-2009 Bill Revelle
2006-2007 Julie Norem
2004-2005 Lew Goldberg
2003 Paul Costa
2002 Walter Mischel
2001 David Watson

Executive Officer

2018-2020 Brent Donnellan
2015-2017 Rebecca Shiner
2011-2014 Lynne Cooper
2007-2010 Brent Roberts


2015-2018 Jennifer Tackett
2011-2014 Jennifer Pals-Lilgendahl
2009-2010 Lynne Cooper
2008 Sanjay Srivastava
2005-2007 Chris Fraley
2001-2004 Rick Robins