ARP’s Mission

The Association for Research in Personality is a scientific organization devoted to bringing together scholars whose research contributes to the understanding of personality structure, development, and dynamics.

New research and theories with broad implications for understanding personality have emerged in recent years. For example, new findings about the origins of personality traits are emerging from population and molecular genetics research, as well as from studies of the neurophysiology of individual differences. Evolutionary approaches are clarifying the adaptive pressures that have shaped emotions and social behavior. Research on the lifespan development of personality is helping to create important new models of continuity and change. Social-cognitive approaches to motivation (e.g., plans, projects, scripts) and the development of narrative theories and methods are revolutionizing the study of lives. Moreover, personality research is increasingly influential in many important areas, including the conceptualization and diagnosis of psychopathology, health attitudes and behavior, the study of close relationships, politics and public policy, and performance in the workplace. More information about some of the key questions investigated by ARP members is available in this white paper prepared for the National Science Foundation. Additionally, this statement to the National Institute of Mental Health explains how personality research can inform our understanding of mental health and psychopathology.

Psychology needs a forum for bringing together the wide range of investigators who are responsible for this scientific progress. This is the purpose of ARP. Members do not have to define themselves as “personality psychologists.” In fact, many of those who currently are making important contributions to our field and attend our meetings were trained in other specialties (e.g., clinical psychology, social psychology, psychiatry, human development, health psychology, I/O psychology).

What are the benefits of ARP Membership? Members receive online access to Social Psychological and Personality Science (SPPS), and can purchase print copies of this journal at a significantly reduced annual rate. Members can also register for the biennial ARP conference at a discounted rate. Regarding the journal, SPPS, co-sponsored with several other scientific societies, publishes cutting-edge, short reports of important studies in personality and social psychology. Regarding the ARP conference, we hold a stand-alone meeting every other year. It is an opportunity for researchers to present and discuss cutting edge research about personality.

If you are interested in joining ARP, please visit our membership page. More information about the Association’s structure and rules can be found in the ARP bylaws.

ARP Executive Board


Brent Roberts Dan McAdams Brent Donnellan Jennifer Tackett

President: Brent Roberts () (2019)
Past President: Dan McAdams (dmca@northwestern.edu) (2019)
Executive Officer: Brent Donnellan (donnel59@msu.edu) (2020)
Secretary/Treasurer: Jennifer Tackett (jenniferltackett@gmail.com) (2018)

A list of past ARP officers is available on our history page.

executive committee Members-at-large

Wiebke Bleidorn (wbleidorn@ucdavis.edu) (2020)
Erika Carlson (erika.n.carlson@gmail.com) (2020)
Katie Corker (corkerka@gvsu.edu) (2018)
Jennifer Lodi-Smith (lodismij@canisius.edu) (2019)
Christopher Soto (christopher.soto@colby.edu) (2018)
Aidan Wright (aidan@pitt.edu) (2019)

Grad student/Postdoc Representatives

Postdoctoral representative: Allison Tackman (tackman@email.arizona.edu)
Graduate representative: Kai Horstmann (horstmak@cms.hu-berlin.de)

training committee

Aidan Wright (aidan@pitt.edu)
Erika Carlson (erika.n.carlson@gmail.com)
Nicole DesJardins (nmldesjardins@gmail.com)
Kai Horstman (horstmak@cms.hu-berlin.de)
Joanna Lamkin (Joanna.Lamkin@bcm.edu)
Robert Latzman (rlatzman@gsu.edu)
Marius Leckelt (marius.leckelt@uni-muenster.de)
Chris Martin (chris.martin.e@gmail.com)
Daniel Mroczek (daniel.mroczek@northwestern.edu)

Publication and communication committee

Dan Ozer, Chair (daniel.ozer@ucr.edu)
Jon Adler (jadler@olin.edu)
Katie Corker (corkerka@gvsu.edu)
Erik Noftle (enoftle@willamette.edu)
John Rauthmann (jfrauthmann@gmail.com)
Angelina Sutin (angelina.sutin@med.fsu.edu)
David Watson (db.watson@nd.edu)

Web Committee

Christopher Soto, Chair and Webmaster (christopher.soto@colby.edu)
Ben Johnson (bnjohnson.psych@gmail.com)

Awards Committee

Jennifer Lodi-Smith, Chair (lodismij@canisius.edu)
Eranda Jayawickreme (jayawide@wfu.edu)
Tera Letzring (letztera@isu.edu)
Doug Samuel (dbsamuel@purdue.edu)
Susan South (ssouth@purdue.edu)

Terms expire at end of year indicated.